Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



哈尔滨电气股份有限公司

HARBIN ELECTRIC COMPANY LIMITED

 $(a^{j} \ i \ t \ c \ c \ a \ i \ c$ ated $i \ the \ Pe \ e' \ Re \ b \ ic \ f \ Chi \ a \ ith \ i \ ited \ iabi \ it \)$ $(Stock \ Code: 1133)$

APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD AND LIST OF DIRECTORS AND THEIR ROLE AND FUNCTION

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors") of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "Compan") hereby announces that, at the Board meeting of the Company (the "Board Mee ing") convened on 16 December 2021, it was resolved that Mr. Cao Zhi-an ("Mr. Cao") be appointed as the executive Director pursuant to the authority granted at the 2020 Annual General Meeting and elected as the chairman of the Board with immediate effect. He will hold office until the conclusion of the following general meeting of the Company. Mr. Cao will not receive remuneration from the Company.

Biographical details of Mr. Cao are as follows:

Mr. Cao Zhi-an, born in 1962, aged 59, holds a master's degree in engineering and title of senior economist, and is currently the chairman of the board of directors and the secretary of the Party Committee of Harbin Electric Corporation* (哈爾濱電氣集團有限公司). Mr. Cao obtained a master's degree in engineering from North China Electric Power University majoring in thermal engineering. He served as the deputy officer of the Personnel and Director Management Department of the State Power Corporation* (國家電力公司), officer of the Ideological and Politics Work Office, officer of the Administrative Office, officer of the Personnel Director Department and assistant to the general manager of the State Grid Corporation of China* (國家電網公司). He served as the deputy general manager and member of the Party Group of the State Grid Corporation of China since April 2006, and served as the director, general manager and deputy secretary of the Party Group of the China Southern Power Grid Company Limited* (中國南方電網有限責任公司) since July 2015. He has been serving as the chairman of the Board and the secretary of Party Committee of Harbin Electric Corporation* since November 2021.

Save as disclosed in this announcement, (i) Mr. Cao has not held any directorship in any other listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years, and has not held any other major appointments and professional qualifications; (ii) Mr. Cao has not held any other position with the Company or any subsidiaries of the Company; and (iii) he does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong). Mr. Cao does not have any relationship with other Directors, supervisors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Company.

In addition, there is no other information relating to Mr. Cao that needs to be disclosed under Rule 13.51(2) (h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to welcome Mr. Cao to join the Board.

Upon the appointment of Mr. Cao as an executive Director and chairman of the Board, the number of Directors has met the requirements of the Association of Articles of the Company. Members of the Board are as follows:

Executive Directors: Mr. Cao Zhi-an, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Sun Zhi-yong

Independent non-executive Directors: Mr. He Yu, Mr. Hu Jian-min, Mr. Chen Guo-qing and Mr. Tang Zhi-hong

At the same time, the appointment of Mr. Cao as the chairman of the nomination committee of the Company has also been approved at the Board Meeting.

Upon the appointment of Mr. Cao as the chairman of the nomination committee of the Company, members of each of the special committees of the Board are as follows:

Commi ee Direc or	A di Commi ee	Rem neration Committee	S ra eg De elopmen Commi ee	Nomina ion Commi ¹¹ ee
Cao Zhi-an				Chairman
Wu Wei-zhang			Chairman	
Sun Zhi-yong				Member
He Yu	Member	Chairman	Member	Member
Hu Jian-min	Member	Member	Member	Member
Chen Guo-qing	Member	Member	Member	Member
Tang Zhi-hong	Chairman	Member	Member	Member

^{*} For identification purposes only

By Order of the Board

Harbin Elec ric Compan Limi ed

Company Secretary

Ai Li-rong

Harbin, PRC 16 December 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Cao Zhi-an, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Sun Zhi-yong; and the independent non-executive Directors of the Company are Mr. He Yu, Mr. Hu Jian-min, Mr. Chen Guo-qing and Mr. Tang Zhi-hong.